Under Construction

This is a side project of Sourcerer. It will take a month or so to get it up to speed. The idea is simple. This blog posts one reblog per day, without comment. Usually to a post from the day before. Here’s how I came up with this idea:

Sourcerer did a lot of reblogging when I started it up. Now it has too much content to do much reblogging. I like to reblog because I know how it makes me feel when someone reblogs one of my posts. It’s a good feeling. And I am all about finding ways to help bloggers feel good. It only takes a few minutes to reblog a post, and I’m visiting 50 blogs per week anyway. So this is a bit of a no-brainer. The reason they’ll always be reblogged without comment is because I want the post to be front-and-center.

I only reblog one post per day because that gives whatever I reblog the front page for 24 hours. I’ll rarely reblog posts written by Diana and I, once we get rolling. This is about promoting other bloggers.

I named it Trebuchet 42 because the value of this blog is that it allows me to take a post that’s done all it’s ever going to do in the WordPress tag feeds and fling it back to the tops of the feeds that I choose for it. “Trebuchet” is just a cooler word that “catapult,” and all the standard versions of that name are registered already. I added the 42 because it’s the answer to the ultimate question of life, the universe and everything.

Hi-jinks will ensue as soon as I find time to get the design right and figure out which social media to connect it to. That’s why we’re looking at a month. Development requires thought, first of all, and this idea is only 20 minutes old at this point. This blog will never be a high-engagement, large-following site, but I think it’s too valuable a tool to not make use of.

In the meantime, feedback is welcome.

 

Leave a Reply

